The Challenge

The impression we get of life while still in school or growing up is quite a disservice. We are made to see how organized it is and how perfect it is, giving people the impression of subjecting their life to the status quo. And then at the sight of how flawed or unfair life is, people are shocked. And the shock many times is not just a surprise to the mind, it goes further to become a trauma that sends waves and ripples of fear into and throughout the human person. The interesting thing is that the shock can be unconscious and send a person to be living in fear without the person knowing how the fear came in the first place.

I’ve done a little research online and I’ve discovered some mental illnesses that affect a lot of people today. Some of them are depression, anxiety disorder, eating disorder, Autism spectrum disorder, avoidant personality disorder, low mood, psychosis, social anxiety, anorexia, insomnia, self-harm, panic disorder, borderline personality disorder, post traumatic stress disorder and so on. Some of these things sound strange to me, maybe because of the environment I grew up in. I find it hard to believe that people actually have these problems but the reality is they do. Another side to the problem is the part of some people hearing voices in their heads which in turn controls their mood (and expression) and dictate their actions. The voice they hear says things like ‘you’re helpless’, ‘you’re worthless’ etc. The mother of all these things is fear and fear is based on one thing – information. It comes from maybe what you’ve experienced, what you heard, what you keep hearing, what you see or what you keep seeing.

I saw so many blogs here about mental health and I was stunned by what I found. On the surface, it looks like many of those people don’t want to be well. But the truth is, part of the illness is the fear of becoming well. These people know too much for anything that wants to make them well to fail. So the best they get is illness-management. Some love their sickness, they love the attention they get from the doctors, and they love the fact that they have a condition that makes them different from the normal person. Hence they want preferential treatment because of that. They don’t want a solution, they just want the whole world to be aware of their problem and recognize them because of it. You might say they are attention seekers but not all of them are like that.

Considering this I think to myself, where do these things come from? Have you ever gone to a town that is not civilized at all and mingled with the people, perhaps abroad? The media is obsessed with making ordinary people look great and successful even though they are not in reality. But the information this passes to others is that you don’t have to be extraordinary to be great, you just have to get the attention of the right people. But the truth is great people are extraordinary people and they were extraordinary before they became great. Anyway, that’s not our problem here. Now I believe you can see that reaching out to people in this situation is very complicated. So where do I come in or where does this blog come in?

First of all, I’m david and the only word that best describes me is ‘Christian’. Not because I go to church every Sunday or that I belong to a church but because my life is largely bound to Christ. It’s the same way some people have their life bound to some sport (like baseball or basketball), or to some kind of music, or to their career. And because of that, I have to commit my life at this point to something that tasks me and I have chosen the case of mental health. As you know, much is expected from whom much is given. So, the focal point of this blog is not to cure, save or help (like most people who have these problems would resent), rather it is to present a reason to be well. The purpose of this blog is to give the reader a reason to be sound mentally. The mission is to inspire mental health restoration. I believe everything you need to be alright is inside you – I just want to help you bring it out.

There will be new posts now every day at 4:45pm CST (5:45pm CDT) from 1st of June to the 30th of June 2016. I hope the words mean something to you.

Much Love

Leave a Reply

